Allen Skillicorn, state representative candidate in House District 66, recently joined a group of supporters of a voter referendum for a state constitutional amendment that would limit the number of terms that members of the General Assembly may serve...

“After experiencing the decay and failure of career politicians in Illinois, voters want term limits,” Skillicorn said. “I agree with the majority of voters in calling for a constitutional amendment for term limits to appear on the ballot.”

Skillicorn added his name to a list of ten legislators or candidates who favor stronger term limits, including state Reps. Sheri Jesiel (R-District 61), Jeanne Ives (R-District 42), David Harris (R-District 53) and Peter Breen (R-District 48); and Republican candidates Rod Drobinski in House District 62, Dawn Abernathy in House District 59, Mike Amrozowicz in Senate District 31, Seth Lewis in Senate District 23, Michelle Smith in Senate District 49 and Nick Sauer in District 51.

“House Speaker Mike Madigan has been in Springfield for 45 years,” Skillicorn said. “Senate President John Cullerton has been elected for another 37 years. These men are part of the problem, not the solution. If the president of the United States is limited to just eight years, why not Illinois politicians? Let’s put it on the ballot and let the people decide.”

House District 66 covers McHenry and Kane counties, including Algonquin, Carpentersville, Crystal Lake, East Dundee, Elgin, Huntley, Lake in the Hills, Lakewood, Sleepy Hollow, and West Dundee.